Madison County

Madison County is located in Northwest Arkansas and has an area of 836 square miles and the average elevation is 1,200 feet. Madison County was created from part of Washington County on September 30, 1836 and was named in honor of James Madison, the fourth president of the United States. Huntsville is the county seat and is home to the Madison County Courthouse and the Madison County Genealogical & Historical Society. Two former Arkansas Governors have come from Madison County: Isaac Murphy (1864-1868) and Orval Faubus (1955-1967). The landscape of Madison County is rugged terrain of the Ozark Mountains. The Kings River in Madison County, the only free flowing stream running into the White River, was the first stream in Arkansas to receive legislative recognition and protection. Kings River Falls is protected by a state-owned 17 acre natural area, also protected is the Sweden Creek Falls Natural Area which has an eighty- foot waterfall. Two wildlife management areas are located in the county. Both offer excellent hunting, which is a popular sport in the county. War Eagle Creek is also located in Madison County, and flows through Withrow Springs State Park, offering family recreation with fishing, canoeing, and camping. The scenic beauty of Madison County draws not only local citizens but many visitors each year.

(officials & information)
Healthy Aging Resources
(support entities)
Healthy Aging Partners
(Schmieding Center affiliates)
Health Statistics
(health rankings)
Judge Area Agency on Aging of NWA PHACS Profile
Sheriff Health Department RWJ Health Ranking
State Representatives
State Legislation