Benton County

Longtime known as the “Cornerstone of the State”, Benton County is located in the extreme northwest corner of Arkansas and borders Missouri and Oklahoma. This region is geographically part of the Ozark Plateau. In the past this area was a Native American hunting ground for the Osage Indians; timberland; and a major fruit producer. More recently the county has become one of the fastest growing population and economic growth centers in the country. Benton County and Bentonville are named in honor of Thomas Hart Benton, a U.S. Senator from Missouri, who worked diligently to have Congress enact the Homestead Act and also played a key role in persuading Congress to admit Arkansas to the Union on September 30, 1836 as the 25th state. The county was also organized in 1836. Senator Benton endeared himself to many settlers across the country and thus had several counties named after him throughout the United States.

(officials & information)
Healthy Aging Resources
(support entities)
Healthy Aging Partners
(Schmieding Center affiliates)
Health Statistics
(health rankings)
Judge Area Agency on Aging of NWA Benton County SALT Council
Seniors and Law Enforcement Together (SALT) Council is dedicated to the protection and well-being of elder citizens in Northwest Arkansas.
PHACS Profile
Sheriff Health Department RWJ Health Ranking
State Representatives
State Legislation